top of page

Honey I Shrunk the Computer

My 1/3 scale mac is done!


The Outside


I made the case using white 3m Sintra (a sheet of pvc, easy to cut and sand) using an x-acto knife, files and sandpaper for the bezels. The sides bottom and front were formed into one part of the case with the top and back as the second piece.


HDMI, two usb ports, ethernet ports.

The Inside

The monitor is a 3.5" composite monitor similar to this one. It's held in with two brackets at the bottom and a few velcro tabs at the top.

The rest of the hardware is attached to a bracket that is easily removed with a few screws.

On the left is the Raspberry Pi. To the right of that is a Four port powered usb hub similar to this, along with it's AC/DC adapter. Two of the USB ports are facing out and two facing in. One of the inside ports holds the wifi dongle and the other will hold the bluetooth dongle when it arrives. On the very top is a 2 port 2.4 amp usb charger that is powering the Pi and the monitor. A note on the monitor, even though it's supposed to use 12 volts, the 5 volt charger is powering it quite nicely but your results may vary :)


To make everything fit I had to make a few modifications.


On the Pi, I had to cut the SD card down almost flush with the edge of the Raspberry Pi board. I also had to cut away quite a bit of the USB cable on the top to get it to bend below the top of my case. The last thing I had to do was to solder wires directly to the Pi board to bypass the power connector.


I tried to find some small wire connectors instead of having to twist and tape everything but no such luck :(

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page